Writing Craft Books

By Elizabeth Swartz

While we are still on our reading habits, let’s talk about books we read about writing. On Writing by Stephen King is wonderful for inspiration and common sense.

The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Stories for Children  by Nancy Lamb is a classic that I keep next to the desk and refer to often when I’m stuck.

Anyone who wants to get better at something reads and studies it. My son reads books about building furniture and made me a beautiful dining room table.

It’s not like any of us have tons of time on our hands, but it doesn’t take long to read a chapter now and then and let it just percolate in the back of your mind.

What are your favorite how-to writing books?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Craft Books

  1. orthodoxmom3 says:

    Right now I’m reading Ann Whitford Paul’s Writing Picture Books 😉

  2. Tina says:

    I agree with On Writing by Stephen King. Great book!

  3. Elizabeth Loane says:

    Real Revision by Kate Messner was exceptional. I can’t wait to meet her at the NY Conference coming up later this month, and tell her just how helpful it was to me!

  4. Hey there, You’ve done an incredible job. I will
    certainly digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

Leave a Reply

