#LoveMadeVisible Day 9: Salad Song, by Lindsay Bandy and Photography by Kathleen Rupff

Salad Song

by Lindsay Bandy

Sisters swinging on the porch swing singing

Of all their garden bed is bringing

Holding hands, they celebrate sweetly

Sowing seeds in rows so neatly

Somersaults in summer-shine

Twirling round tomato vines

Weeds and worms and warm-weathered June

A sister-song of salad soon.

bleeding heart     bleeding hearts2   bleeding heartsBleeding Hearts

by Kathleen Rupff

About Kathy Rupff: Currently working in paper collage, photography, and digital art, Kathy’s interested in creativity of all kinds– including writing, children’s book illustration, and baking. To learn more about Kathy please visit her website at www.kathleenrupff.com.  Follow her “A-Photo-A-Day” Blog on Twitter @KathleenRupff

Lindsay Bandy is the coordinator for Eastern Penn Points blog. She has two little girls who love to eat salad (provided it is drenched in Ranch with cheese and croutons) and can’t wait for spring, so they can get their hands and knees dirty outside.

Tweet a hello @bandy_lindsay

This entry was posted in #LoveMadeVisible and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to #LoveMadeVisible Day 9: Salad Song, by Lindsay Bandy and Photography by Kathleen Rupff

  1. Lindsay,
    Love the way the words make a salad!

  2. Lindsay, LOVE your poem– What a great gift that will be to your daughters one day (or maybe now)! And thanks so much for featuring my work!

    • Thank you Kathy! I love your photos. Bleeding hearts always remind me of being little and visiting my grandma. She had some in her side garden, and she would always cut some and send them home with me in a wet paper towel 🙂

  3. hmmmmm says:

    Bleeding hearts are so perfect for this grey day — and for Valentines week!!

  4. Virginia Law Manning says:

    Lindsay, I really enjoyed your poem! It made me miss my sister and so excited for spring!!! It can’t come soon enough for me! Thank you for sharing! Kathleen, I can’t wait to see that bright spring green! Beautiful photos!

  5. Lynn Schuessler says:

    Love the play of words and sounds, Lindsay. And thanks to both of you for the hope of spring!

  6. Delicious words Lindsay, I can just taste them!

  7. Kathy, what beautiful photographs. Love on a branch gives us such hope for spring!

  8. Brinton Culp says:

    What a fun poem to read aloud! And the hearts are lovely. Thanks.

  9. Anni Matsick says:

    Tongue twister! Great fun with alliteration.

  10. You two really have me pining for summer (which can’t come “soon” enough) so I suppose your evocative efforts have (cruelly) succeeded! 🙂

  11. Somehow I missed this post so I’m chiming in late. My sister and I are both avid gardeners although my sister’s thumb is much greener than mine. Thanks for pulling me back into the warm smell of earth and growing things on a freezing winter day, Lindsay & Kathy.

Leave a Reply

