#LoveMadeVisible Day 14: Valentine Card, by David C. Perry + Caricature Giveaway!!

Valentine-Card-Art-A

VALENTINE CARD

(c) 2007, 2015 David C. Perry
 
The red paper looked really nice;
     It would make a fine Valentine.
My fold in half was precise,
     Then I cut on the curvy line.
Snip! Snip! Snip!
“Oh, please,” I thought, “Please don’t rip!”
 
I wanted to make you the perfect heart,
     A symmetrical, beautiful work of art,
          But somehow I sliced the two halves apart!
So, now, I’m sorry to say,
I’m just gonna throw it away,
Throw this darn card away!
 
Then I tried to draw you a cupid
     And a cute little cuddly kitty.
But the cupid looked kind of stupid
     And the kitty wasn’t so pretty.
I tried to draw you a puppy,
But the puppy looked more like a guppy.
 
Then I tried to draw your smiling face,
     But your eyes and nose looked out of place,
          Like some alien from Outer Space.
So, now, I’m sorry to say,
I’m just gonna throw it away,
Throw this darn card away!
 
Then I unscrewed the cap,
    Gave my Glitter Glue a squeeze,
But the cap fell into my lap
     And I glued together my knees!
Things weren’t going so well,
But I only had three words to spell.
 
I scrawled out “I love you,”
     But it’s hard to write with a tube of glue.
          Then something made me sneeze â “Achoo!” â
And all around me, glitter flew â
     And then the next thing that I knew,
          The whole gooey mess was stuck to my shoe!
So, now, I’m sorry to say,
I’m just gonna throw it away,
Throw this darn card away!
 
What’s that? You say you don’t care?
     You don’t really give a hoot
If my Valentine heart has a tear?
     Or the creatures I drew aren’t so cute?
And this mess of glitter and glue
Is a masterpiece to you?
 
You say what matters is the thought,
     You’re glad my card was not store-bought,
          The best Valentine you’ve ever got.
And, now, I hear you say,
“I’ll never throw it away.”
Wow! Now, you’ve made my Valentine’s Day!
 
– 
 
You can listen to David sing this song at:

View and/or download a PDF with more artwork by clicking this linkValentine_Card_Text Art

 
 
Mr. David C. Perry Creative Entertainment
 
David C. Perry is a Philadelphia based children’s entertainer who creatively combines words, art, music and comedy under the banner of Mr. David’s Drawings, Songs & Silliness. 
 
Phone/Text: 610-457-1239
Twitter:  @MrDavidCPerry
 

David will do a caricature from a photo of one lucky commenter and their loved one(s) in the theme of their choice! Contest is open until the end of February, so keep on commentin’!

This entry was posted in #LoveMadeVisible and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to #LoveMadeVisible Day 14: Valentine Card, by David C. Perry + Caricature Giveaway!!

  1. Very sweet sentiment! Your little artist boy is adorable!

  2. Wow– Creative on so many levels! Love how the story’s told in rhyme!

  3. Jeanette Argento says:

    Love David C. Perry he is so talented !

    • Aw, shucks… It was really great seeing you at the Berks County Library Showcase this week. I’m looking forward to performing at your (new and improved) library again this summer.

  4. ldk says:

    It’s true, homemade Valentines are the best! Loved the poem and the art!

  5. Janice says:

    Really loved this! Captures how kids often feel about their ‘creations’ and how we have such an important role in validating their love!

  6. papa stas says:

    Thanks for the smiles.

  7. Denise says:

    I love the spirit of this. Adorable!

  8. nicole Robichaud says:

    So cute – both the pic and the poem! Great work!

  9. sharon says:

    Very cute! It brought a smile

  10. Janine Kelly says:

    I absolutely LOVE your card, David!! It is truly the innocent and beautiful love through the eyes of a child!! Keep up the Fabulous work that you do!

  11. Tina Stone says:

    Love, love, love ALL aspects of David’s work! This brightened my day after a grueling round of snow shoveling! Thanks, David.

  12. Karen says:

    David, your talents which I knew of and envied in childhood growing up in our small community in rural Quebec continue. Congratulations!

  13. Eric says:

    So much fun in so many ways, David! Very well done.

  14. Steve says:

    Dr. Seuss might say something like this, but David’s message is as sweet as a kiss.
    Great going, David!

  15. fauxqui says:

    Roses are red,
    so is much wine,
    David your verses,
    Make the best Valentine!

  16. Diane Butcher says:

    Great art and poem! Thank you for sharing your talent with us!

  17. ANDREA GREEN says:

    David, David…you’ve got what it takes..to make kids smile ‘cross the United States..You light up their hearts with your very own….direct …without a telephone… I’d recommend you to anyone..who wants to have fun … .Yes, you know how to entertain… and LIFT UP…everyone!
    Best,
    Andrea

  18. Rob Lincoln says:

    David Perry is a triple threat–great children’s songwriter, hugely entertaining performer and talented visual artist. This song is a perfect example. Charming, touching, funny, wonderful little song. Keep writing them like this David!

  19. Hope Proctor says:

    I just wanted to comment how much I appreciate kid art. As and early education teacher for almost 20 years… I see children grow so much in only a year. I lived your poem and picture. Continue to be creative and live your job as much as I do.

    • I pinch myself every day that this is actually my “job” – that following my bliss has led to this. Picasso said “Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up.”

  20. Katherine says:

    Everyone loves Dave Perry, and there is lots about him to love… His humor, creativity, artistic ability, musicianship- oh and he’s a nice person toooooooo!!!! I love the sentiment in this song. Congrats on another winner, Dave!

    • I am humbled by your over-the-top kinder-than-kind words. Thank you, Katherine, and your CMN colleagues, for being such beacons of inspiration and pillars of integrity in the wacky world of children’s entertainment and education. 👬👪👭

  21. Society is constantly emphasizing perfection, it is nice to read a heartfelt poem that eloquently reveals imperfection is a valued trait that contributes to individuality. ~ndpthepoetress Jean Michelle Culp of BindingInk.org

  22. Bonnie Lewis says:

    Loved your song David. With your sweet, funny illustrations, I believe it would make a wonderful book. It’s true some publishers don’t like rhymes, but if it’s done well, many do. I was raised on the works of Robert Louis Stevenson. The lilting rhythms of his poetry nurtured my language development and planted a love of children’s poetry that lives with me today. Children love your work, and years from now, will tell their children how Mr. David made them love music and poetry.

  23. I have always adored “A Child’s Garden of Verses” and enjoy sharing those ground-breaking poems with kids of all ages. I wish I shared your confidence in the prospects for my legacy! ⏳⌛️

Leave a Reply

