The 2015 Martin Luther King Living the Dream Book Award Goes to….Our Very Own Pamela Tuck!

We would like to extend a big congratulations and hug to Pam Tuck, author of As Fast As Words Could Fly!

100 NYC 5th graders voted on May 6 to decide which book (out of the top 10 finalists) would win the award, and they made a great choice!

As fast as words could fly

I asked Pam if she would share a little bit about her journey, and she agreed in hopes that she would inspire and encourage YOU. So be sure to check out Pam’s web site,  read this special book, and congratulate her in the comments!

*  *  *

pam

I attended my very first SCBWI meeting in June 2007. I felt enlightened and overwhelmed by the experience, but I left the conference discouraged. I had 8 children at that time, and didn’t think I could devote myself to my writing, as outlined by several presenters. My husband, Joel, told me, “You are a writer. You don’t have to write on someone else’s schedule. Write on your own schedule.” He found out about the New Voices Award offered by Lee & Low Books, and encouraged me to write my dad’s story of desegregating the public school system in 1960s Greenville, NC. I was very reluctant, but I did it. I submitted my story to Lee & Low in September 2007, and in December 2007, I received a call from one of the editors announcing me as their New Voices Award Winner!! What a jumpstart to a career I almost gave up on. Since that time, my book, As Fast As Words Could Fly, has received 3 other awards: The 2014 Skipping Stones Honor Book Award, The 2015 Storytelling World Resource Award, and just recently, the 2015 Martin Luther King “Living the Dream” Book Award. My dear husband, Joel, passed away in November 2014, but his belief in me continues to empower me as a writer.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The 2015 Martin Luther King Living the Dream Book Award Goes to….Our Very Own Pamela Tuck!

  1. hmmmmm says:

    Oh Pam! I am so sorry for your loss. I hope that you are still finding time to write as you adjust to life without Joel — and that writing is bringing you some solace
    I loved AS FAST AS WORDS COULD FLY — though I think you already know that!!

  2. Pam, your story is very inspirational! I’m so happy you had your husband’s support to spur you on! I think SCBWI is another great place to find life-long writer/illustrator friends who will encourage us when the road is long and bumpy. It was a pleasure meeting you in the Poconos! I hope our paths cross again soon! Congratulations on all your success!

  3. What a great post, what could be a better tribute to your husband, every time a kid reads your book his memory lives on. SCBWI is a unique, nurturing organization in the creative world, the post is good reminder Pam’s success is our success and the pie only grows with outstanding work like hers.

  4. Sandy Asher says:

    Condolences. Congratulations. Your story fills my heart to overflowing, Pam.

  5. Echoing the other commenters. Your post touched and inspired me, Pam.

  6. Thank you all so very much!

  7. Heather Pierce Stigall says:

    Congratulations, Pam! I am sorry for your loss. I’m sure Joel will continue to inspire you in your writing and I wish you many more successes in your future. It was a pleasure meeting you at the Poconos Retreat and I hope we see each other at another conference or meeting soon!

  8. gayleckrause says:

    Congrats on your award. How satisfying, knowing Joel was right all along. It was good to see you again at the Pocono Retreat again, and share a selling table after all these years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

