Reining in Picture Book Back Story, by Anna Forrester

This entry was posted in Real Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Reining in Picture Book Back Story, by Anna Forrester

  1. What a great blog post and very opportune for me. In the case of my Willy the Woolly Bear Caterpillar I was able to dump both the beginning and the ending (and some of the middle) in my quest for 500 words. And the story still holds together. Thanks Anna, great post and I’ll check out your blog.

  2. Nadine Poper says:

    Thank you Anna! You sometimes write in Benton? I often go up there to Rickett’s Glen to hike. Lovely little town.

  3. hmmmmm says:

    Thanks Steve. I always find purging (words) totally satisfying once I finally force myself to do it!!

  4. Heather Pierce Stigall says:

    I’m guilty of including too much in most of my early drafts too. I like to use the strike out feature when I’m editing so I can read the text without the extra stuff to see if I really need it. If I still need part or all (rare!) of it, I can always un-strike it. It makes it a little easier to kill those darlings a little at a time. I like your reference to Knuffle Bunny. The two follow up books (Knuffle Bunny Too and Knuffle Bunny Free) have similar end papers that summarize what came in the previous books and, of course, mimic what a parent would do — take snap shots of important milestones in their child’s life. Thanks for the post.

  5. Pingback: Reining in Picture Book Back Story | Hmmmmm

Leave a Reply

