What Do You Want to Know? by Lindsay Bandy

As I work on drawing up a new year’s worth of monthly themes, I want to hear from you. What questions do you have about writing, illustrating, submitting, and the industry? What areas would you like to learn more about? I’d love to create monthly themes and acquire guest blogs on topics you are interested in!

question mark

So, tell me what you want, what you really, really want! In the comments, include any question, big or small, that’s been on your mind. Tell me what kinds of posts have been most helpful for you in the past. Got a topic you’d like to write about? Let me know that, too, and I’ll work it in.

Thanks for being such an awesome, supportive community….you all inspire me!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What Do You Want to Know? by Lindsay Bandy

  1. I’d really like to hear something about quiet picture books. I tend to write quieter ones. People say there’s a place for them (I know there’s a need for them since I’m a parent and an educator!), but it is so hard to gain representation when that’s what you write. I’d love to learn more about what it takes to break in when your writing is not madcap.

    • Excellent question, Stacey! Any authors you admire that we might contact to do a guest blog or to get a blurb of advice about these types of picture books? You can comment or e-mail me and we’ll see what we can do!

  2. I would like to know what actual literary contract’s general parameters are for children’s books for first time authors. Nobody actually talks about it, advances, %’s and $’s. I am a published adult non-fiction author and have a good idea of that market, what should we expect in children’s books, by genre, PB, MG, YA, NA? Not asking for exact, but ranges.

    • Thanks, Steve. I think we all want to know more about that! I’ll definitely incorporate a business-related theme this year and work on finding a good answer to your question. If you come across anything in the meantime that you’d like to share, just let me know!

      • I remember one of the speaker’s spoke a bit about numbers, the super energetic agent in Dating 101 with Publishers and Agents, but I think she was exaggerating to be aspirational for the Poconos retreat attendees.

Leave a Reply

