What are Your Favorite Spookies? by Lindsay Bandy

Happy almost-Halloween! I’m making a last-minute run for face paint to get  my little ghosties ready for trick-or-treat tonight, and my mouth is watering thinking about the chocolate-peanut butter combos that will be mine when the moon is high. My girls are not into anything seriously scary, so we’ll be reading…

Not Very Scary, by Carol Brendler/Greg Pizzoli

Not Very Scary

I’m a fan of suspense without gore, which makes me partial to Hitchcock and Poe and Sedgwick. Stories Not for the Nervous is one of my favorite thrift shop finds…a collection edited by Alfred Hitchcock full suspenseful short stories by various famous people.

As far as movies go, I adore Edward Scissorhands. Quirky-creepy-cute Johnny Depp? Yes please….

Movie-Poster-Edward-Scissorhands

How about you? What are your spooky guilty pleasures? Cute, horrifying, creepy, bloody, adorable, nightmare-worthy….. Please share!

This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What are Your Favorite Spookies? by Lindsay Bandy

  1. Virginia Law Manning says:

    My all time favorite is BY THE LIGHT OF THE HALLOWEEN MOON by Caroline Stutson and illustrated by Kevin Hawkes–it’s SUCH a fun read-aloud with a subtle empowering message!. A new favorite is GHOST IN THE HOUSE by Ammi-Joan Paquette, illustrated by Adam Record. Love the rhythmic, rhyming text and hip artwork!

  2. Where the Wild Things Are.

  3. The Little Old Lady Who was not afraid of Anything.

  4. erikammon says:

    This past year I read Doll Bones and The Graveyard Book and loved them both!

  5. My kids and I get in the spirit with Scaredy-Cat Splat by Rob Scotton, In the Dark by Stan and Jan Berenstain, and Charlie Brown’s Great Pumpkin… and of course chocolate peanut butter treats too. =)

  6. I have to say the scariest movie I’ve ever seen was The Ring, don’t watch it alone! The scariest new book I read this year was, The Winter People, by Jennifer McMahon, one for grownup people. I remember trying to read The Shining before bed when I was about 13 yrs old and decided it would have to be a relegated to daytime reading book only.

Leave a Reply

