Summer Reading: Cutting the Line, by Kristen C. Strocchia

hat-2140279_1280

Most likely we’ve all heard the advice that great writers are great readers. Know your craft, which we do by reading authors who’ve succeeded there. So, like many will-be authors, I keep a To Read list and a stack of Read Next books handy. And especially during the summer, which, as a teacher, is my time of the year to assume the full time author role.

But there are always authors that cut my line. Ones that it doesn’t matter where I am in my list or stack, because when they publish something new, I’m going to put down every book I’m interested in or curious about to read. These authors captivate and inspire me. These are authors that I have fallen in love with.

Here are a few of my favorite line cutters for your guilty pleasure:

  • Sharon Cameron: immersive period details, romantic tension, and suspenseful intrigue.
  • Alley Carter: appropriate teen romance, laugh out loud humor moments, and suspenseful intrigue.
  • Megan Whalen Turner: expert world building with hints of multiculturalism, nonstop intrigue, suspense (are you seeing a pattern here?), and heart-grabbing characters.
  • Pam Muñoz Ryan: poignant Hispanic cultural stories (something I’m a sucker for), heartfelt characters, and powerful life changes.

Please share your recommendations for me in the comments below. (Who doesn’t want a new author to love?)

This entry was posted in summer reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Reading: Cutting the Line, by Kristen C. Strocchia

  1. Have you read The Lightning Queen? You must, MUST! Laura Resau writes extensively about Hispanic and Latin cultures in her books. But I especially l-o-v-e-d Lightning Queen and the Mixtec and Romani cultures chronicled there. Thanks for sharing your favs.

Leave a Reply

